It's your last chance to see a supermoon this year with the 'strawberry' moon

Science

CNN 24 June, 2021 - 06:12am 55 views

What is a strawberry moon?

June's full moon is called the strawberry moon because it signaled to some Native American tribes that it was the time of year to gather ripening strawberries, the almanac says. USA TODAYHow to watch the last – and most adorably named – supermoon of 2021. It's the strawberry moon.

When will the strawberry moon appear 2021?

The first full moon of summer 2021, also known as the Strawberry Moon, rises tonight (June 24), marking the last supermoon of the year. June's full moon arrives Thursday (June 24) at 2:40 p.m. EDT (1940 GMT). Space.comThe full Strawberry Moon, the last supermoon of 2021, rises tonight! Here’s what to expect

When was the last strawberry moon?

Our planet's natural satellite – better known as the Moon – will appear opposite the Sun and fully illuminated on June 24, 2021, at 18:40 UTC, which is 1:40 p.m. CDT (UTC-5). nasa.govSee the Strawberry Moon – 2021's Last Supermoon! – Watch the Skies

When will the strawberry moon appear?

This month's full moon, known as the “Strawberry” moon, will rise on the evening of June 24, according to astronomers. It will be the last in a string of four consecutive “Supermoons,” and the next one won't come around until May 16, 2022. NBC ChicagoThis Week's ‘Strawberry Moon' Will be Final ‘Supermoon' of 2021

Science Stories