Loki Season 1 Review

Entertainment

IGN 16 July, 2021 - 02:16pm 5 views

Will there be another episode of Loki?

Thankfully, yes. Disney+ has officially renewed Loki for a second season. The streaming service revealed the exciting news during the finale's end credits, when a case file was marked with a stamp saying, "Loki will return in season 2." ELLE.com'Loki' Season 2 Release Date, News, Cast, Spoilers, Trailer

What happened at the end of Loki Episode 6?

The episode ends with a pan shot from a confused and worried looking Loki to a big statue at the TVA, where the three Time Keepers stood earlier. Now, there's just one statue – of He Who Remains, in the avatar of Kang the Conqueror, presumably the new super villain of Marvel's Phase 4. The Indian ExpressLoki Episode 6 recap: Tom Hiddleston show introduces new supervillain in cliffhanger finale

What happened at end of Loki?

Ending of 'Loki' Season 1 finale, explained Loki finds himself at the Time Variance Authority office again. ... After running through the library, Loki stumbles upon Mobius and Hunter B-15. He confesses what happened to him, Sylvie and He Who Remains at the end of time and urges them to prepare for a coming war. Deseret News‘Loki’: What happens at the end? The ending, explained

Who is he who remains in Marvel Comics?

Alone in the Citadel at the End of Time in the Temple of Sleepers, He Who Remains is the last director of the Time Variance Authority (TVA). He creates and guards the Time-Keepers, a trio of beings who are fated to survive the end of eternity known as The Cataclysm. marvel.comHe Who Remains Powers, Enemies, History

The most standalone MCU series yet

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

That’s not how it’s supposed to work. The entire conceit of the MCU is that every story, whether it’s a blockbuster movie or a streaming television show, is in service to the greater narrative arc. You’re not just watching what’s happening to the characters on-screen, but also hints of what comes next. Loki doesn’t get away from that entirely, particularly with its conclusion that sets up the universe’s next big villain. But like the variants who inhabit Loki’s world outside of time, the six-episode first season carves out its own timeline — a few of them, in fact — making it perhaps the most standalone part of the MCU to date. You can enjoy it as part of the all-encompassing cinematic universe or as what it truly is: an excellent piece of science fiction.

The show doesn’t seem that standalone at first. It opens with a scene from Avengers: Endgame when Loki (Tom Hiddleston) makes off with a powerful device known as the Tesseract. From here, the story diverges from what we’ve seen in the MCU. Loki is apprehended by the Time Variance Authority (TVA), which is sort of like a time-traveling FBI with one specific purpose: to protect the “sacred timeline.” From the TVA, Loki learns that he’s a variant, which is a fancy word for someone who deviates from the timeline set out by a mysterious trio called the Time Keepers, who control the flow of time and created the TVA in order to maintain its purity.

Within this framework, the show jumps across genres, starting out a bit like a buddy cop series. After Loki is processed through the TVA’s charmingly banal bureaucracy, he forms an uneasy alliance with agent Mobius (Owen Wilson) in order to track down the killer variant. From there, Loki heads into more explicit sci-fi territory; one episode takes place on a dying moon that’s about to be crushed by a planet, while another is set in a void at the end of time that seems to be populated entirely by alternate versions of Loki. Things move with an incredible sense of momentum. Hiddleston’s Loki is constantly on the run, eventually switching allegiances to work with the variant he was meant to capture — who calls herself Sylvie (Sophia Di Martino) — as the two decide to take down the TVA together. Once the TVA and its many confusing rules are established, this relationship between two Lokis, which starts out antagonistic before becoming more intimate, forms the thrust of the show. There are a few pacing issues, like a third episode that ends on a frustrating cliffhanger and a monologue-filled finale, but for the most part, Loki moves along at a satisfyingly brisk rate.

The show touches on a lot of lofty themes, like the idea of parallel worlds and whether free will can even exist in a multiverse. But grounding it all is Hiddleston’s take on Loki. This is the deepest, most intimate look we’ve had at the character so far, despite six film cameos spanning a decade. Here, he’s given a chance to grow across nearly six hours of screen time. Growth isn’t something typically associated with Loki. He’s a compulsive liar and a narcissist, someone so single-mindedly focused on himself that nothing else seems to matter. But in the show, that changes — in the most Loki way possible. He literally falls in love with himself. It sounds strange, but one of the most important arcs in the show is the budding romance between Loki and Sylvie, two versions of the same being. But of course Loki would finally find love in a variant of himself. But of course someone with such a violently self-hating streak would only find real self-actualization in a romance... with himself. He grows over the course of the show, but he’s still Loki after all.

It’s also incredibly charming — not only the excellent cast, but the universe and aesthetic, from the 1970s-style retro-futurism to gorgeous alien worlds that look like a Roger Dean painting come to life. Things get pretty weird, like when you meet a whole gang of Lokis, including an alligator and a Loki who actually managed to survive to old age (played by a Richard E. Grant who looks like he’s having the time of his life). Loki is a mashup of sci-fi influences — you can see everything from Brazil to Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy — that, while not entirely unique, at least feels distinct from the rest of the MCU. It’s playful and heartfelt in equal measure, and it all looks really cool.

This idea of isolating from the rest of the Marvel universe isn’t completely new. It’s part of what made WandaVision so appealing — at least at first. The otherness of the show’s sitcom-inspired world was refreshing. But steadily, more MCU-like elements crept into Wanda’s fantasy, until the show felt like what it truly was: a continuation of the Avengers storyline. Loki is much more of its own thing. There are references to characters and plots, of course, but they feel secondary. And even when the show does reveal its bigger purpose within the machinations of the MCU (it introduces Majors’ character, Kang the Conqueror, who is set to appear in Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania a few years from now), it doesn’t pull you out of the story. If you’re not up on Marvel lore, you probably won’t even realize what’s happening. Rather it feels like a natural setup for the now-confirmed season 2.

In fact, if you’re somehow new to this whole Marvel thing, I’d recommend Loki as the place to start. It’s the best of what the superhero genre has to offer without all of the homework.

Read full article at IGN

Future | Marvel Studios' Loki | Disney+

Marvel Entertainment 18 July, 2021 - 02:10pm

Odin's Quote Is Marvel Most Important Lesson

CBR 18 July, 2021 - 02:10pm

Did the Loki finale live up to its glorious purpose?

The A.V. Club 18 July, 2021 - 02:10pm

Maybe I’ve just been spoiled by the last two Disney+ Marvel shows, which felt satisfyingly complete, or maybe it’s just a consequence of Loki’s skimpy six-episode run, but that felt a little… abrupt, didn’t it? (To say nothing of “weirdly reminiscent of Tim Burton’s Planet Of The Apes.”) Don’t get me wrong: Jonathan Majors gave a strong, if somewhat predictable “I’m omnipotent and isn’t that quirky” performance as timeline master Kang/Immortus/Whoever. (And kudos to Marvel for having the courage to tackle a character with one of the most absurdly convoluted timelines in all of comicdom.) But the cliffhanger ending of “For All Time. Always” offers so little self-contained resolution that it threatens to render Loki little more than a prologue to either its own second season, or maybe just to that Multiverse Of Madness we’ve been hearing so much about.

Which is a shame, because I loved Loki in a way I haven’t loved either of its predecessors; the sheer energy of watching Tom Hiddleston bounce his way from apocalypse to apocalypse made this easy appointment viewing, week in and week out. I just wish the show had ended up having more of its own story to tell in the process, rather than feeling like a chunk of extremely charming connective tissue. (Also, less time-incest, please.) As to my favorite variant, I could go with the obvious, reptilian answer, but seriously: God bless this show for giving us Richard E. Grant, somehow managing to make prancing around in a bright green onesie feel simultaneously tragic, hilarious, and inspiring. Old Loki for the win.

Both WandaVision and The Falcon And The Winter Soldier lost me at certain points. The resolution to the former’s mysteries was unsatisfying, and I will go to my grave believing the rumors that the latter cut a virus storyline that would’ve been uncomfortable during COVID-19 (but also would’ve made way more sense than the absolute nothing storyline the show ended up with). Ahead of Loki, I was ready to argue that MCU stories just don’t work for me when stretched out to TV length, but that darn trickster went and tricked me. I never saw it coming! Loki is easily my favorite Marvel Studios thing since, oh, April of 2019, and it’s almost entirely because the show actually knew what story it wanted to tell and how it wanted to tell it—even if it did end up being built around setting up hooks for future Marvel stories (call me a sucker, but I love that shit).

As for which Loki is my favorite, there’s only one choice: He’s green, he’s got horns, and… oh, that doesn’t narrow it down at all. It’s Alligator Loki, and if there’s any justice in this world, Disney will merchandise him as thoroughly as it has that overrated baby from the other Disney+ show. Alligator Loki aside, I loved the gag with President Loki, who shows up to help one of the Lokis betray the other Lokis, betrays him, and then gets betrayed by his silly Mad Max goons (who also might’ve been Lokis?). Truly fantastic.

As for the finale, I agree it seemed abrupt. I was bummed they followed TFTWS’s “let’s exposition our way out of this” route. Then again, after the hubbub about Mephisto in WandaVision, I was pleasantly surprised they actually brought in Jonathan Majors. At least he had fun doing all the talking. He was incredible, and I’m excited to see what he brings to Loki season two and Ant-Man And The Wasp: Quantumania. Side note for Loki season two: Mobius needs to get a freaking jet-ski, okay? My favorite Loki, besides Hiddleston’s ,was obviously Richard E. Grant’s Classic Loki. It was perfect casting. The scene of him joyously screaming “glorious purpose” at the end of episode five will be burned in my head forever.

I’ve made peace with each MCU story being a piece of a bigger puzzle, though I do agree with most everyone else that series creators and writers like Michael Waldron should still try to make the most of their part of that larger narrative. Loki is certainly well made, from its gorgeously off-kilter score—complete with theremin—to the anamorphic shots that captured the expanse of the TVA. The series was more consistent in its thrills and tone than TFTWS, but to quote a different Asgardian, I just think it could have been more. I never connected to the Loki/Sylvie relationship, which shifted from an interesting take on self-love into something much more prosaic by the end. The trouble might have been with Sylvie, who always felt more like a complication than a character. Or maybe, after watching Loki connect with his brother after losing their mother in the movies, I wanted him to find more of that kind of family, which is where I thought the show was going with Mobius. When Loki began to move away from Loki and Mobius’ relationship—mentorship or friendship, because Marvel would never actually give us Lokius—it began to lose me. But kudos to Jonathan Majors for his take on a great and weary Oz; if Loki had to set off a bunch of new stories, at least there’s a good chance he’ll feature prominently in them, whether as Kang, He Who Remains, or someone else.

SAM'S TAKE| LOKI Episode 5 & 6 Review | RNZ

RNZ 18 July, 2021 - 02:10pm

Loki Getting a 2nd Season + MORE! (Daily Nerd News)

Comicbook.com 18 July, 2021 - 02:10pm

Every new movie and show coming to Disney+ in August 2021

Yahoo Entertainment 15 July, 2021 - 04:04pm

Here’s everything new coming to the Disney+ streaming service in the month of August 2021:

That’s everything coming to see on Disney+ through August 2021. We’ll be back next month with a list of all the shows and movies coming to Disney’s streaming service in September. You can also see everything that was added to Disney+ in July 2021 right here.

Carl Lawson's career sack numbers are not entirely representative of the impact he could make with the Jets.

TV personality revealed why she occasionally ‘slurs’ words

Jay Shaylor is out as executive producer for 'CBS Evening News' in the first significant change since a leadership shake-up in the news division.

For close to a half-century, anyone who trusts lyric sheets and official artist websites has been certain of one thing: In Bruce Springsteen’s “Thunder Road,” Mary’s dress waves, and it does not sway. No matter what some people might think they hear him singing, it’s been right there in writing, from the lyrics included with […]

She's going to have a lot of punching and kicking to do.

A She-Hulk series is coming to Disney+ starring Tatiana Maslany and Jameela Jamil. Here's everything we know about the show so far. The post The SHE-HULK Series Is Coming in 2022 appeared first on Nerdist.

“What is making it go so viral is that people started their own trend on it, and dancing in front of the original video gives that video so much value.”View Entire Post ›

Expats are moving to some of the world's most remote places. Many don't stick around long enough to reckon with the long-term effects of their lifestyle.

This interview answer has us reaching for our calendars. Apple TV’s Ted Lasso starring and executive produced by Jason Sudeikis hosted a premiere party for season 2 (out July 23!), and cast members got to talking about the coincidence that Sudeikis’ current girlfriend Keeley Hazell shares a name with Lasso character Keeley Jones. According to […]

Group performs "Bell Bottom Blues," "Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad?" and "Key to the Highway" to mark release of Layla Revisited

(Warning: This post contains spoilers for the series premiere of FX on Hulu’s “American Horror Stories.”) Paris Jackson was told she’d be playing a bully when she landed her role as Maya on the series premiere of Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk’s “American Horror Story” spinoff anthology, “American Horror Stories.” But the actress tells TheWrap she was unaware just how big a bully her teen queen would be until she read the massive twist in the script for “Rubber (Wo)man,” which sees her character l

Cheers to this good news! 😁

"This is publicly open information, people sharing information online, just as you are all reporting information on your news stations," Psaki said.

"This song has taken me through so many roads and it has taken me on an adventure," Shakira said of her new single

When I first watched the trailer for Netflix’s “Bridgerton,” which reimagines 19th-century Regency-era Britain as a racially equitable society in which people of color possess the same upward social mobility as white Englishmen, my eyes shot out of their sockets. I was both confused and angry, my mind suspended in disbelief. Much to my chagrin, this seems to be a prevailing theme across several Netflix originals. It seems the streamer believes it can help with ethnic representation in the media

Julia Ducournau's Palme d'Or winning"Titane" has provoked strong reactions from festival goers, with some loving it and others walking out.

He made his wishes known during his trip home!

The first Loki season ended its run with “glorious purpose” earlier this week, transforming the show into one of Marvel’s best MCU stories so far. From the first episodes, it was clear that Loki is by far the best MCU TV series made for Disney+. But Loki is also better than many Marvel movies. The … The post You might not even realize why Marvel’s villain reveal in ‘Loki’ was so brilliant appeared first on BGR.

Entertainment Stories

Top Stores