NBA summer league 2021 - Previewing Celtics-Kings title game and how top players find roles when the season tips

Sports

ESPN 17 August, 2021 - 06:17am 28 views

What is a two way contract in the NBA?

NBA teams are only allowed to have two players on two-way contracts, leaving just one potential NBA roster spot for another player. After a standout four-year college career at Marquette, Howard averaged 2.8 points per game in limited minutes his rookie season. Colorado Springs GazetteMarkus Howard returns to Denver Nuggets on two-way contract

Read full article at ESPN

Immanuel Quickley, Payton Pritchard lead the 2021 Too Good For Summer League Team

The Athletic 17 August, 2021 - 01:10pm

Immanuel Quickley, Payton Pritchard lead the 2021 Too Good For Summer League Team

Celtics, Kings to square off for Summer League title

NBA.com 17 August, 2021 - 10:34am

The Boston Celtics and Sacramento Kings are set to meet for the MGM Resorts Summer League title on Tuesday night. Both teams have enjoyed a perfect stint in Las Vegas, with Sacramento getting to 4-0 after it rolled past the Dallas Mavericks on Sunday, while Boston drilled the Philadelphia 76ers to reach 4-0 as well.

MGM Resorts NBA Summer League 2021 will culminate with a Championship Game between the Sacramento Kings and the Boston Celtics on Tuesday, Aug. 17 at 6PM PT on ESPN.

Full schedule for the final day of games below ⬇️ pic.twitter.com/sQ8b1k2T2M

— NBA Communications (@NBAPR) August 16, 2021

Boston has been dominant in Summer League play, winning games by an average of 21 points, but Sacramento has been no slouch either, winning its games by an average of 13 points. Both coaches of the respective Summer League squads have fared well, too, with Celtics assistant coach Joe Mazzulla calling the shots for Boston while former Sixth Man Award winner and current Kings assistant Bobby Jackson does likewise for Sacramento.

Who will take the 🏆 pic.twitter.com/ipPcI18dJW

— NBA Summer League (@NBASummerLeague) August 17, 2021

Final practice before the Summer League Championship game. pic.twitter.com/b4QDIrYEO5

— Boston Celtics (@celtics) August 16, 2021

🏆 𝐜𝐡𝐚𝐦𝐩𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩 𝐛𝐨𝐮𝐧𝐝 🏆 pic.twitter.com/gP94fzqu6D

— Sacramento Kings (@SacramentoKings) August 16, 2021

Want every headline right at your fingertips? Sign up to receive NBA emails!

By clicking "Submit", you agree to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. You agree that your personal information will be used to send you messages about NBA related products and services, and share your personal information with NBA partners and affiliates so that they can also contact you about products and services that might be of interest to you.

NBA.com is part of Warner Media, LLC’s Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network

When you visit our website, we store cookies on your browser to collect information. The information collected might relate to you, your preferences or your device, and is mostly used to make the site work as you expect it to and to provide a more personalized web experience. However, you can choose not to allow certain types of cookies, which may impact your experience of the site and the services we are able to offer. Click on the different category headings to find out more and change our default settings according to your preference. You cannot opt-out of our First Party Strictly Necessary Cookies as they are deployed in order to ensure the proper functioning of our website (such as prompting the cookie banner and remembering your settings, to log into your account, to redirect you when you log out, etc.). For more information about the First and Third Party Cookies used please follow this link. More information

Under the California Consumer Privacy Act, you have the right to opt-out of the sale of your personal information to third parties. These cookies collect information for analytics and to personalize your experience with targeted ads. You may exercise your right to opt out of the sale of personal information by using this toggle switch. If you opt out we will not be able to offer you personalised ads and will not hand over your personal information to any third parties. Additionally, you may contact our legal department for further clarification about your rights as a California consumer by using this Exercise My Rights link. If you have enabled privacy controls on your browser (such as a plugin), we have to take that as a valid request to opt-out. Therefore we would not be able to track your activity through the web. This may affect our ability to personalize ads according to your preferences.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms.    You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work. These cookies do not store any personally identifiable information.

We use cookies to provide you with the best online experience. If you continue browsing, we consider that you accept our Cookie Policy, and also agree to the terms of our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

NBA Summer League 2021: Championship Game TV, Live-Stream Schedule

Bleacher Report 17 August, 2021 - 07:00am

The Boston Celtics and Sacramento Kings will put undefeated records on the line in the 2021 Summer League Championship Game at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas on Tuesday. 

Both teams have been impressive in Vegas. Four teams ran up perfect 4-0 records in league play, but the Celtics (21.0) and Kings (13.8) punched their tickets to battle for the title by virtue of their average margins of victory. 

The Minnesota Timberwolves (12.8) and New Orleans Pelicans (11.5) came up just short in that department. 

Both the Celtics and Kings rosters feature a number of young players who figure to go on to successful NBA careers. With both teams in red-hot form, we should get a competitive game with several players out to prove themselves in front of a national television audience.

             

Date: Tuesday, August 17

TV: ESPN

Live Stream: Watch ESPN or ESPN app

               

It's tough to pick against the Celtics at this point. They have been a fine-tuned machine offensively and are shooting the lights out as a team. They have converted on 40.3 percent of their three-point attempts and are making 15.5 triples per game. 

That shooting will be bolstered by the return of Payton Pritchard, who played in the team's first three Summer League games. He missed the team's fourth game to go drop 92- and 60-point performances at the Portland Pro-Am, but he announced on Twitter that he'll be back for the final game in Vegas. 

The 23-year-old point guard has been electric for the Celtics, averaging 20.3 points and 8.7 assists per game. 

You don't want to miss him do this. https://t.co/6wj1QRhtg5

Even without Pritchard, Boston didn't have any trouble generating offense. It beat the Philadelphia 76ers 100-80 with five scorers in double-digits. Carsen Edwards took over as the primary table-setter with seven assists and 16 points. 

The Celtics management team has to like what it has seen from its young players in the desert. First-round picks Aaron Nesmith and Romeo Langford have both been instrumental in this championship run. 

Nesmith is averaging 18.8 points per game while shooting over 50 percent from the field, and Langford is chipping in an additional 11 points. 

The Kings haven't been quite as dominant as the Celtics, but they've put together a great run in Vegas. Jahmi'us Ramsey has led the way with 16.3 points per game while shooting 47.9 percent from the field. 

Ninth overall pick Davion Mitchell has shone in his four games. He's posted 5.5 assists with 11.3 points per game while shooting over 50 percent from three. 

They've also got some key contributions from less-heralded prospects. Emanuel Terry has been their biggest asset on the boards with seven per game while providing some highlight-reel dunks on the offensive end. 

EMANUEL TERRY OFF THE BACKBOARD! @EmanuelTerry08 | @SacramentoKings https://t.co/gnDOjTuPZz

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!

Boston Celtics: 3 potential stars in tonight’s Summer League title game

Hardwood Houdini 17 August, 2021 - 03:00am

Boston Celtics Mandatory Credit: Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

This year’s NBA Summer League has raised the bar for the annual July tournament, taking place this year in August due to the COVID-19 adjusted 2020-21 schedule. The Boston Celtics dominating so profoundly isn’t even the only reason why.

The games themselves have been competitive and spirited, with the pace being particularly torrid. That has been the trend in the last few years as a whole, but it seems amplified because of the passionate fans punctuating highlight plays with passionate cheers of jubilance.

Fans are back in the stands once more, and while there are masking and social distancing requirements in Las Vegas that weren’t present during the NBA postseason, it is certainly a far cry from where we were just one year ago when games were being held behind closed doors in front of virtual fans down on Walt Disney World’s Wide World of Sports complex.

Of course, things are extra sweet because the Cs will be participating in tonight’s Summer League title game. Their opponents, the Sacramento Kings, will have the best player on the floor in Davion Mitchell.

Mitchell has shot the lights out of the ball, averaging a 50% clip from the 3-point line to complement a 47% overall shooting percentage. While we know he will be one of the Kings’ primary contributors, who will be getting it done for the Cs?

Here are 3 Celtics we can see in the starring role tonight during the NBA Summer League title game:

We don’t know whether or not Payton Pritchard will be able to follow through on his tweet proclaiming his return to the Summer League Cs, but if he does, you can bet that Pritchard will play a starring role.

Currently averaging over 20 points on an insane 57% clip from the 3-point line, Pritchard is coming off a 92-point game in an Oregon Pro-Am. He’s got the hot hand, and it’s a hand I want the ball in tonight if he gets the green light to play from Celtics summer league head coach Joe Mazzulla.

Build your custom FanSided Daily email newsletter with news and analysis on Boston Celtics and all your favorite sports teams, TV shows, and more.

Your favorite teams, topics, and players all on your favorite mobile devices.

Powered by Minute Media © 2021 All Rights Reserved.

Lakers To Close Out Las Vegas Summer League Against Warriors On Tuesday Afternoon

LakersNation.com 16 August, 2021 - 06:00pm

Get breaking Lakers News direct to your inbox.

The Las Vegas Summer League has quickly come and gone as this year’s season was shortened to just four regular-season games. There are no playoffs, as is usually the case, with the Boston Celtics and Sacramento Kings meeting in the championship game after both going undefeated.

As for all the other teams like the Los Angeles Lakers, they will still get one more game even though they aren’t competing for a championship.

The Lakers went 2-2 in their first four games despite having a roster full of undrafted players, beating the Phoenix Suns and Los Angeles Clippers while losing to the New York Knicks and Detroit Pistons.

L.A.’s final game is set for Tuesday at 4 p.m. PT as they will take on the Golden State Warriors on ESPN News, via the NBA Summer League official Twitter:

MGM Resorts NBA Summer League 2021 will culminate with a Championship Game between the Sacramento Kings and the Boston Celtics on Tuesday, Aug. 17 at 6PM PT on ESPN.

— NBA Summer League (@NBASummerLeague) August 16, 2021

The Warriors will be another tough test for the Lakers as they have two lottery picks in Jonathan Kuminga and Moses Moody as well as some other experienced players like former Laker Gary Payton II. Just like the Lakers though the Warriors went 2-2 in their first four games.

For some Lakers players, this will be their last game to impress the front office as well as other front offices across the league in hopes of landing an NBA roster spot. The Lakers already gave out their two-way contracts to Austin Reaves and Joel Ayayi in addition to signing both Chaundee Brown and Mac McClung to Exhibit 10 contracts.

At the Lakers’ Summer League game against the Pistons on Friday night, current stars LeBron James and Russell Westbrook attended the game in support of the players and organization.

James even made a young fan’s day by posing for a picture with him on his way out, which is exactly what the Summer League experience is all about.

Payton Pritchard Drops 92 Points During Pro-Am In Portland, Oregon

CBS Boston 16 August, 2021 - 04:26am

BOSTON (CBS) — Payton Pritchard had been dominating the Summer League in Las Vegas, but had to leave the Celtics over the weekend due to a prior engagement. That prior engagement was a Pro-Am in Portland, Oregon, and Pritchard dominated that as well.

The legend of Payton Pritchard continues to grow as Boston’s backup point guard had a Pro-Am for the ages late Saturday night, dropping an absurd 92 points in his home state. High-scoring outburst in Pro-Ams are nothing new, as former Celtics guard Isaiah Thomas dropped 81 points in Seattle just last week, but 92 points is a truly epic performance.

Pritchard’s team — aptly called Team Prichard — needed all 92 of those points, too, eking out a 165-163 win over Next Level. Defense was very much optional (read: non-existent) during the game, as it tends to be during Pro-Ams. Highlights from Pritchard’s monster evening are starting to surface (you can watch the fourth quarter here), and are pretty entertaining for Celtics fans.

Pritchard was hitting some ridiculously deep threes in Summer League, and that farcical range followed him home to Portland on Saturday:

Pritchard, whom the Celtics drafted with the 26th overall pick out of Oregon last year, averaged 7.7 points off 44 percent shooting during his impressive rookie campaign for Boston. He appears poised to make a big jump in Year 2 after averaging 20.3 points and 8.7 assists in Summer League action, hitting 58 percent of his three-point attempts while shooting 51 percent overall.

A perverse performance like 92 points in a Pro-Am should just add to the 23-year-old’s confidence heading into the 2021-22 season.

These cookies are essential for the proper functioning of our Services. Essential cookies cannot be switched off in our systems. You can set your device to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the Service will not work.

These Cookies allow us to collect information about how visitors use our properties. Some examples include counting visits and traffic sources, so we can measure and improve the performance of our services. If you do not allow these Cookies we will not know when users have visited our properties and will not be able to monitor performance.

These Cookies enable the services to provide enhanced functionality and personalization. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our services. If you do not allow these Cookies then some or all of these services may not function properly.

These Cookies may be set by us or through our services by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant advertising on this and on other properties. If you do not allow these Cookies, you will still see ads, but you will experience less relevant advertising.

These Cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the services to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites, building up a profile of your interests to show you relevant content and advertisements on the relevant social networks. If you do not allow these Cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.

Sports Stories