Previewing Sunday’s Money In The Bank PPV

Entertainment

Deadspin 17 July, 2021 - 01:16pm 6 views

What Time Is Money in the Bank 2021?

Don't miss the two jaw-dropping Ladder Matches and so much more at WWE Money in the Bank on Sunday, July 18, streaming at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT exclusively on Peacock in the United States and WWE Network everywhere else. WWEWWE Money in the Bank 2021 preview: Kofi Kingston will go it alone in WWE Title

Predicting the match order at Money in the Bank 2021

Cageside Seats 17 July, 2021 - 10:11pm

Money in the Bank takes place tomorrow night (July 18) from the Dickies Arena in Fort Worth, Texas, with the main card beginning at 7 pm ET on Peacock.

WWE has announced six different segments for the main card of this event. Here is my subjective view of how important each of these six segments rank, ordered from most important to least important.

The Money in the Bank ladder matches do sometimes close out this annual event, but WWE is paying part-timer Edge big bucks, and he’s competing against the top star in the company. That’s why the match between Reigns and Edge is the logical choice for the main event of this card. The story between Lashley and Kingston has been presented well enough to main event a pay-per-view, but it will be difficult to get that spot over Reigns and Edge on this night.

WWE had a run of two consecutive pay-per-views without a part-timer in the main event, but that should come to an end with both Money in the Bank and then SummerSlam next month. That’s not inherently a good or bad thing right now, it’s just a further observation about WWE quickly returning to business as usual now that they are back on the road.

On a pay-per-view with two Money in the Bank ladder matches and several other title fights, it’s a pretty good bet that one of the ladder matches will open the card.

Given that there are arguably two other men’s matches on the card that are more important than their ladder match, I think opening the card with the men’s ladder match makes the most sense. The eight competitors are sure to get the crowd amped up with a thrilling fight.

If WWE instead prefers to have the women’s ladder match go very early in the night, then Lashley’s WWE championship match might also need to be booked in the first half of the card (because the men’s ladder match will have to be booked in the second half). That’s a plausible scenario, but not the one I’m selecting.

That gives me the following card:

The men’s ladder match should be followed up in Segment 2 with the least important match of the night, which is the Viking Raiders’ bout.

One of the two women’s matches needs to go after that. It’s probably too soon to go with another ladder match, so I’ll put Flair and Ripley in Segment 3.

It’s down to Lashley and the women’s ladder match for Segment 4 and Segment 5. WWE doesn’t usually book two women’s matches in a row, so I’ll put Bob in Segment 4.

So here is my final prediction for the match order at Money in the Bank, along with guesses on the bell-to-bell match times:

That’s my prediction for the match order at Money in the Bank. What’s yours?

Inside Nikki Cross' superhero transformation entering WWE Money in the Bank

New York Post 17 July, 2021 - 10:11pm

By Joseph Staszewski

July 17, 2021 | 10:00am

A lot has changed quickly for Nikki Cross.

Three weeks ago on “Monday Night Raw” she debut a new superhero-themed character similar to The Hurricane and Mighty Mollie of WWE’s past.

After being on and off WWE television earlier this year, Cross – now named Nikki “A.S.H.” for Almost a Superhero – finds herself in the women’s Money in the Bank ladder match at Sunday’s pay-per-view (8 p.m., Peacock) with fans back in attendance. If she is able to beat Liv Morgan, Natalya, Tamina, Naomi, Zelina Vega, Alexa Bliss and Asuka she’ll earn a contract for a championship match anytime, anywhere.

Before the big match, Cross took time for some Q&A with The Post’s Joseph Staszewski.  

A: As a child, I was always watching the X-Men cartoons, the Spiderman cartoons. If I wasn’t watching WWE I would be watching X-Men and they had this amazing theme music (Sings X-Men theme music). So I was always into that, growing up and watching the Marvel and the DC movies, The Avengers, everything in the MCU, DC and they had the Justice League. I always loved superheroes and I loved watching the television shows and the movies. I was always a huge fan of The Hurricane in WWE. We’ve been thinking about this since the Royal Rumble. This is like a six-month labor of love and a love letter to my childhood, 90’s cartoons. For me, that was kind of how everything came together.

I’m so proud of everything and excited about how it came to life, for me, even the lightning bolt which is on the costume. That represents my past as Nikki Storm on the independent scene before coming to WWE and I always had lightning, sparks on my gear and then the butterfly represents the metamorphosis, just because it’s been just a wonderful few years with WWE and trying these different things and some different aspects of the personality. To me, this was kind of a natural evolution.  

A: I believe in the idea. I put so much energy and time. I put so much effort. I put so much time into this, into building this idea. So for me, one thousand percent, I knew it was gonna work. I knew how much I believed in it and I knew my energy and enthusiasm. I knew that I was going to be able to explain it. What I’m trying to say Joe is there weren’t nerves because of how much I believed in the idea.

A: It would mean the absolute world. It would mean the galaxy or the universe. It would mean so much, Joe. We have the Money in the Bank ladder match on Sunday and this is the second Money in the Bank ladder match I’ve done. An even though that was 2019, I posted about it on social media. For me, a lot’s changed, the same desire to win, the same spirit to win like all of that is still the same.

With this character and with Nikki Almost a Superhero, I think this is really a chance to connect and reach out to the audience and show them and teach them and kind of present something that’s inspirational, is positive and something it can really get behind and realize that everyone has something super about them. And there’s this idea that you put on the mask and cape and you feel like you can try anything. I feel like it’s such a positive message. I think to win that Money in the Bank contract, I think that adds to even more to this positive and wonderful message that we’re trying to send.  

A: Yeah. For myself, right off the bat, speaking about this on ‘Raw Talk’. We have an amazing digital team that we were really able to put this message out. I know I don’t have superpowers. I know I don’t have super strength. It depends on how much coffee I’ve had. (Laughs). It was making that clear that I know I don’t have superpowers, but you put on the mask, you put on the outfit and you put on the cape and I feel like I can trying anything. That’s the core of this whole character.

A: The momentum for the last couple of month have been tremendous. I’m so proud of what we’ve done and it’s so satisfying and it’s so fulfilling to see this come to life. We took it from paper to WWE television. I’m so fulfilled. It’s a very, very satisfying, very proud moment. It’s going to get even better now that we are going to go back in front of or WWE fans. This weekend we are back to being live in front of our fans, so I think the timing couldn’t be more perfect.

A: I used the time to self-improve. I watched a lot of tape. I watched Ricky Steamboat. I was even watching a lot of my older matches and say ohh, let me bring that back or oh that didn’t work as well, maybe leave that in the past. I was able to really reflex and really study a lot of wrestling and my own. A lot of reflection, a lot of sketching stuff and writing stuff down. I was also in the ring four times away. For me, I’m a WWE superstar. I’m a professional athlete, so the grind never stops.

A: Nattie and TJ (Wilson), they’ve been wonderful enough to invite [us]. We’ve been going there weekly and they just have so much to offer this industry. TJ has such a fantastic mind and Natalya is so inspirational and she has so much knowledge as well, so the two of them together are the ultimate power couple. They care so much about this industry, so to be able to pick their brains was awesome.

And then my husband Damian Mackle (Killian Dain), we’ve done a lot of training. He still is one of my main coaches. We work on things all the time. Also Drew Gulak, before television on Monday afternoon there would be the practice ring set up in the arena and he would always work on stuff with me there. So I feel like I’ve surrounded myself with great people with great knowledge. I’m a very good sport, Joe. I’m very happy.

A: You stay ready, the opportunity came, I faced Rhea Ripley the Raw women’s champion in a beat-the-clock challenge and then Charlotte the week after. Both of those girls underestimated the power of Nikki Cross to beat the clock. I seized the opportunity. I ran with it and then we carried that momentum to this presentation, this character, this role model. I think there was a good lesson for anyone in this industry that you stay ready and you take the opportunity and you run with it as far as you can.

A: Now that I’m gonna leave to your imagination. As a superhero or as almost a superhero, I’ve got my secrets, I’ve got my secret lair, I’ve got my Nikki mobile and there are things I’m gonna leave to people’s imagination.

A: (Laughs) He told me he said that and I laughed. Sugar mama. I was there with Damo when he received the phone call. I’d rather let him speak about it. He’s my husband. I support him to the moon and back, to Pluto and back to Neptune and back, all the faraway planets and back. So I would rather let him tell his story and his feelings and his thoughts about it. He’s very excited for his next chapter. I’m excited for his next chapter and it’s his story to tell.

A: Well Joe, how about you? Do you want to be my backup?

A: You would be my Robin. So for me, as almost a superhero so I’m not a superhero just yet, so there is plenty of time for sidekicks, but for now I need to focus on being almost a superhero and become a superhero.   

Baron Corbin Reveals He Might Have to Move-In With His In-Laws as Financial Issues Continue

EssentiallySports 17 July, 2021 - 11:30am

However, things have drastically changed for Corbin after losing his crown to Shinsuke Nakamura. Plus, the humiliation afterwards has been even more disheartening.

Baron Corbin has nothing going right for him. His investments failed and he is basically running out of money to make ends meet. Hence, he decided to make a plea to the WWE Universe as they returned in full-capacity at the Toyota Center last night for SmackDown.

Ahead of the Fatal 4-Way main event on SmackDown, Baron Corbin came out to address the crowd. Or shall we say, to make a plea to the crowd? Either way, Corbin walked out to the ring looking absolutely devastated.

As Corbin made his way to the ring, a package played showing all the things that have gone down in his life. He said the last few weeks have been the most difficult times of his life. He has lost everything from his crown to his savings.

He further revealed the bank is also threatening him to foreclose his house. Not just that, but also revealed his two-year-old daughter is sick and eating spaghetti out of the can instead of Wagyu beef.

Corbin added that if this continues, then he would have to move in with wife’s parents, basically with his in-laws. The crowd went absolute nuts as he said it. However, he added there’s a good news and that is the WWE Universe helping him out in this difficult time.

How much would you give @BaronCorbinWWE?#SmackDown pic.twitter.com/Z3CZmqBsn7

— WWE (@WWE) July 17, 2021

Baron Corbin announced he has started a crowdfunding website called Corbin Fund. The funding goal is $100,000! Corbin said he’s looking for the funds to pay a few bills and get back to his feet. He pleaded everyone to go and donate to his fund.

However, the heel and elitist in Corbin isn’t dead yet as he said, “All of you please go to CorbinFund.com and donate because every little bit that you have, it helps. And please, don’t tell me that everyone here in Texas is cheap as everyone else around the world.”

The former King even got down on his knees and begged the WWE Universe to donate. As his so-called ‘begging’ continued until Kevin Owens came out.

.@BaronCorbinWWE may be looking for $100,000 to get himself out of a couple of jams… but @FightOwensFight just donated a STUNNER to the Corbin Fund on #SmackDown! pic.twitter.com/MsEr8SPqVe

— WWE (@WWE) July 17, 2021

Now this didn’t sit right with the ‘Prizefighter’ and he wasted little time to make a donation. Although the difference was it wasn’t a monetary donation, but a stunning donation as Owens hit a stunner on him!

From The Bella Twins to Jinder Mahal: 5 Overrated WWE Superstars of All Time

WWE SmackDown results: Fans return for first time since March 2020 as top NXT star appears

GIVEMESPORT 17 July, 2021 - 07:54am

A huge night for WWE last night, as the company welcomed fans back to a main roster show for the first time since the March 9 episode of Monday Night Raw last year.

As SmackDown emanated in front of a live audience for the first time in a year-and-a-half, WWE Chairman Mr. McMahon enthusiastically welcomed the WWE Universe.

After Edge and The Mysterios set a devastating trap for Roman Reigns and The Usos last week, all six Superstars battled in a turbulent Six-Man Tag Team Match. Although The Ultimate Opportunist Speared Reigns outside the ring, Jey Uso took advantage of all-out chaos to pick up the victory on The Master of the 619 with a handful of tights.

Though The Bloodline earned the win heading into WWE Money in the Bank, another Spear by The Rated-R Superstar stopped a vicious post-match assault by the Universal Champion and company. Edge once again grabbed a chair leg and trapped Reigns in a Crossface that was as devastating as it was humiliating!

As Sami Zayn complained in front of a live audience about how the great conspiracy against him was deliberately keeping him out of Sunday's Money in the Bank Ladder Match, Finn Bálor suddenly emerged on SmackDown! After avoiding The Master Strategist's sneak attack, The Prince launched a massive counter-assault that ended with the earth-shattering Coup de Grace!

One week after overcoming Natalya & Tamina on SmackDown in their debut, Shotzi and Nox once again battled the WWE Women’s Tag Team Champions in another Championship Contender Match, with Money in the Bank Ladder Match competitors Lv Morgan and Zelina Vega on commentary.

When an altercation broke out between Morgan and Vega, the bedlam allowed Nox to steal the win away from The Queen of Harts.

Furious at Liv and Zelina for costing them the match, Natalya and Tamina ignited a post-match brawl that ended with Morgan staring tall!

After Bianca Belair’s planned opponent Bayley was forced to back out of their match due to injury, The EST of WWE instead retained her SmackDown Women’s Championship against the self-proclaimed “Most Beautiful Woman in all of WWE” with the K.O.D.

After The Alpha Academy stated that Otis will destroy anyone who crosses his path, Cesaro looked to put that theory to the test. When Otis was run into the ring post, an interfering Chad Gable attacked and brought an end to the match by disqualification. In response, The Swiss Superman took him for a ride on the Cesaro Swing, but Otis dropped Cesaro mid-swing and laid him out with a vicious splash.

After Baron Corbin pleaded on his knees with the WWE Universe to help him out of his recent financial troubles through an online fundraising site, Kevin Owens emerged to contribute a Stunner to the cause.

Two days before Sunday’s high-stakes Money in the Bank Ladder Match, Kevin Owens leaped off a ladder, smashing King Nakamura through the SmackDown announce table. Moments later, Seth Rollins escaped from Big E's Big Ending attempt and Stomped him down on the ladder to score a huge victory over his fellow SmackDown Money in the Bank Ladder Match competitors.

Entertainment Stories