Review: 'Fear Street Part 3: 1666' pulls off a magic trick: It's the best of the trilogy

Entertainment

Yahoo News 15 July, 2021 - 05:53pm 10 views

When does Fear Street 3 come out on Netflix?

There is good news for 'Fear Street' fans, as the next movie is coming out very soon. It is scheduled for release on July 16, which is this Friday. More specifically, it is scheduled to hit Netflix accounts at 12:01 PT or 03:01 ET, for those in the United States. MARCA.comFear Street Part 3 1666: Release date, plot and cast on Netflix

Whereas the first two "Fear Street" movies paid tribute to horror films from the eras in which they were set, "1666" is its own animal. Perhaps it contains echoes of "The Village" or "The Crucible," but it doesn't feel constrained by those parameters. Also, perhaps being forced to write outside of contemporary idioms reduced the third installment's use of clichéd and clunky dialogue. There are fewer jump scares as well, series director and co-writer Leigh Janiak relying more on the creepiness of the setting and our involvement in the story than in parts 1 or 2. Because this was designed as a trilogy rather than a slasher film and its thrown-together sequels, the, um, stakes are considerably higher in Part 3.

"1666" picks up from the end of "Part 2: 1978," when series lead Deena (Kiana Madeira) thought she was ending the Shadyside Witch's curse but instead found herself somehow transported to the Witch's/Sarah Fier's time, seeing the world through her eyes and living in her body. At last, we learn the truth behind the Witch's legend and the events leading to her death, but not in quickie-flashback treatment. Rather, the bulk of the film is set then, exploring the characters, their motivations and their world.

Don't worry, there's still evil magic and blood to come.

"1666" being set hundreds of years before the other two movies, we don't get to see younger versions of the characters we've come to know. Rather, we see the actors from those previous films (especially "Part 1: 1994") playing denizens at the time of the town's founding, lending some instant context for characters and relationships.

Until the big set-piece climax, "1666" also has the lowest on-screen body count of the trilogy. Tension instead comes from the deadly event toward which we know Sarah Fier is inexorably being dragged, but with Deena trapped in her circumstance.

Part 3 also represents the trilogy's clearest expressions of its feminist and class-struggle themes. Toxic masculinity, homophobia and mob rule all play their poisonous parts in "1666," tying all three films together and providing them with greater dimension.

Madeira delivers her best performance in the series as she labors desperately to escape Sarah's fate and save her love from the same. With very limited screen time, the "real" Sarah, Elizabeth Scopel, effectively conveys the extreme emotions of her predicament. Janiak posts her most assured directorial effort, and she and her co-writers turn in a script that both involves us in the 17th century setting and the gonzo fun of the slam-bang finish.

It's unusual that a sequel outperforms the original work artistically, and rarer still that a third film is the best of a trilogy; "Fear Street Part 3: 1666" pulls off that magic trick. It should make fans glad they hung around.

This story originally appeared in Los Angeles Times.

This seems to be a week dealing in dread, with plenty of options for filmic thrill-seekers.

All products and services featured by Variety are independently selected by Variety editors. However, Variety may receive a commission on orders placed through its retail links, and the retailer may receive certain auditable data for accounting purposes. Spike Lee knows how to work a red carpet. And his appearances at the 74th Cannes Film Festival, […]

We're gonna need a large glass of wine.

The most pleasant of the surprises lurking like a masked killer in the final Fear Street movie is that Netflix’s teen-horror saga has actually worked its way to a fairly satisfying conclusion. Make no mistake, this isn’t really, on its lonesome, a better movie than the two that came before it; it shares some of its predecessor’s problems (unconvincing period detail, a dearth of genuine scares), while also sacrificing the nominal retro charm of those slasher homages in favor of a more poker-faced

Monochrome styling is Pugh's favorite at the moment.

Sam Richardson may be best known for his comedic roles in “Veep,” “I Think You Should Leave with Tim Robinson” and “The Detroiters,” but this summer, the funny guy is taking on furry beasts in “Werewolves Within” and spike-shooting aliens in “The Tomorrow War.” Playing skittish draftee Charlie, Richardson adds levity to “The Tomorrow War,” […]

See the new guidelines released Thursday afternoon by the Kentucky Department of Education for the return to in-person learning this fall.

Andrew, a swimmer, says that remaining unvaccinated is a risk he's willing to take.

Below Deck Mediterranean viewers are just getting acquainted with Courtney Veale as she makes her Season 6 debut. The yachtie has dropped tidbits about her past — including that she's worked as a Disney princess in Paris. And in a recent Instagram share, the stewardess let on that she has incredible swim style. In the July 14 snap, the South Wales beauty wore a skimpy black-and-white bikini by White Fox. The speckled two-piece had high-cut bottoms with tie sides, and Courtney wore hers with the

Julia Roberts' daughter, 16-year-old Hazel Moder, made her Cannes red carpet debut at the 2021 film festival alongside her father, Daniel Moder. The father-daughter pair stepped out at the premiere of "Flag Day," for which Moder served as the cinematographer. For the red-carpet occasion, Hazel donned a pale yellow, button-up lace dress while Moder wore a tuxedo.

The 33-year-old singer is having the last laugh.

Marvel shocked fans with the Loki finale earlier this week, and we’re still trying to make sense of what just happened. It’s a good kind of shock, as Loki delivered a great story. We got to re-experience the journey from bad-Loki to good-Loki all while learning the secrets of the multiverse. That might be the … The post ‘Loki’ finale explains why Sony can’t release a ‘Spider-Man: No Way Home’ trailer appeared first on BGR.

It's called fashion, look it up.

Cardi B and Normani tease "Wild Side" debut with sexy, nude cover art.

Read full article at Yahoo News

FEAR STREET: PART 3 - 1666 Trailer (2021) Netflix Horror

JoBlo Movie Trailers 16 July, 2021 - 08:01am

‘The Stairs’: Mysterious Set of Stairs Appears in the Middle of the Woods in Upcoming Horror Movie [Trailer]

Bloody Disgusting 16 July, 2021 - 08:01am

Haunted by Guilt in Kiyoshi Kurosawa’s ‘Retribution’ [Horrors Elsewhere]

[Review] ‘Fear Street Part 3: 1666’ Closes Out the Netflix Trilogy With a Whimper

[Review] ‘Escape Room: Tournament of Champions’ Struggles to Create a Game Worth Playing

‘Tattered Hearts’: Katey Sagal Starring in Thriller from Blumhouse, EPIX and Director Brea Grant

‘The Stairs’: Mysterious Set of Stairs Appears in the Middle of the Woods in Upcoming Horror Movie [Trailer]

“The Last of Us”: Actor Who Voiced Tommy in the Games Joins HBO’s Series

[Review] “American Horror Stories” Struggles for Fresh Air in Lackluster Series Premiere

“Goosebumps”: R.L. Stine Brought Gateway Horror to the Small Screen in the ’90s [TV Terrors]

Netflix Hires Oculus Content VP to Assist Transition Into Video Games Market

“Chucky”: Teaser Image Suggests Something is Coming Tomorrow

[Review] ‘Fear Street Part 3: 1666’ Closes Out the Netflix Trilogy With a Whimper

[Review] ‘Escape Room: Tournament of Champions’ Struggles to Create a Game Worth Playing

[Review] “American Horror Stories” Struggles for Fresh Air in Lackluster Series Premiere

[Review] ‘Gunpowder Milkshake’ Serves Up Stylish, Empty Calorie Action

[Review] Shark Attack Horror Movie ‘Great White’ Sinks Under Shallow Tropes

Haunted by Guilt in Kiyoshi Kurosawa’s ‘Retribution’ [Horrors Elsewhere]

“Goosebumps”: R.L. Stine Brought Gateway Horror to the Small Screen in the ’90s [TV Terrors]

How Clive Barker’s Original ‘Hellraiser III’ Pitch Evolved Into ‘The Mummy’

A Charming Apocalyptic Misfire: The Curious Case of Clive Barker’s ‘The Plague’

‘Valentine’ Kicked Off 2000s Horror With a Fun Trip Right Back to the 1980s [You Aughta Know]

‘Howling Village’: ‘Ju-on’ Director Takashi Shimizu’s New Nightmare Releases on Friday the 13th [Trailer]

Spirit Halloween Previews New Products for Halloween 2021 Including ‘Killer Klowns’ and Ghostface Animatronics! [Video]

“Y: The Last Man” Teaser Trailer Shares Haunting Statistics [Video]

From 1666 to 1994, Lengthy ‘Fear Street’ Featurette Goes Behind the Scenes of Entire Trilogy [Exclusive]

“What We Do in the Shadows”: First Season 3 Teaser Has a VR Experience With Nandor [Video]

[Trailer] Take on The Arctic And Eat Your Friends in Upcoming Survival Title ‘Dread Hunger’

‘Resident Evil Re:Verse’ Delayed Until 2022

Netflix Hires Oculus Content VP to Assist Transition Into Video Games Market

[Watch] New Lore Trailer For ‘Chernobylite’ Delves Into The Protagonist And Story

Dark Fantasy Metroidvania ‘Ender Lilies’ Arrives on PlayStation Consoles Next Week

John Schneider (The Dukes of Hazzard) and Academy Award® nominee Kathleen Quinlan (Apollo 13) lead the cast of The Stairs, coming to theaters for one-night-only this summer.

The Stairs will arrive in theaters for a one-night event on August 12 from Cinedigm and Fathom Events, we’ve learned today. You can check out the official trailer down below.

The press release promises, “The Stairs blends the sweeping natural beauty of the Pacific Northwest with the stomach-churning gore of Hollywood in this modern-day movie.”

“In 1997, a young boy is out hunting with his grandfather (Schneider), when he stumbles upon a mysterious staircase deep in the forest. The subsequent disappearance leaves locals baffled as to the fate of the wayward pair. Twenty years later, a group of hikers set off on an ambitious trail, taking them deep into a secluded stretch of woods. Overcome with the beauty of their surroundings, they are blinded to a sinister presence lurking just beyond the trees. As the mountain terrain pulls them deeper, the group unknowingly stumbles upon a long-forgotten evil and find themselves coming face to face with the thing that nightmares are made of.”

Adam Korson (SurrealEstate, Imposters), Brent Bailey (Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., NCIS) Stacey Oristano (Friday Night Lights, In Plain Sight), Tyra Colar (Cougar Town, The Mentalist), and festival winner Josh Crotty (Scandal, Shockwave) also star in the film.

Peter “Drago” Tiemann directed The Stairs.

Writer in the horror community since 2008. Owns Eli Roth's prop corpse from Piranha 3D. Has three awesome cats. Still plays with toys.

Cinedigm Comes Face to Face With a Long-Forgotten Evil in Creature Feature ‘The Stairs’

‘The Stairs’ Heads Deep into the Woods for Horror

New ‘Parallel’ Image Heads Into the Multiverse [Fantasia]

Horrors Elsewhere is a recurring column that spotlights a variety of movies from all around the globe, particularly those not from the United States. Fears may not be universal, but one thing is for sure a scream is understood, always and everywhere.

Copyright © 2021 Bloody Disgusting, LLC

Fear Street trilogy on Netflix: That ending and post-credits scene explained

CNET 16 July, 2021 - 04:00am

It's been a tough, wild ride, but finally we know the truth behind the Shadyside Killers in Netflix's Fear Street. The trilogy of films took us from 1994, back to 1978 and finally 1666, exploring why possessed serial killers were brutally murdering the residents of Shadyside, Ohio. It all had something to do with Sarah Fier, a witch who cursed the town to centuries of misfortune, while on the other side of the tracks, the town of Sunnyvale thrived.

Was Sarah Fier really evil? Why do Sunnyvale residents hate Shadysiders? What's the truth behind the curse? Let's dive into all of that and more below.

Read more: Fear Street Part One: 1994 review -- Netflix horror takes R.L. Stine to the next level

Olivia Scott Welch plays Sam and Kiana Maderia plays Deena.

When Deena reunites Sarah Fier's hand with the rest of her skeleton, she flashes back in time to 1666, where she witnesses the truth behind the Shadyside curse.

Deena sees that Sarah Fier was innocent, that she was framed for witchcraft by Solomon Goode, Sheriff Nick Goode's pilgrim ancestor. Using "A Simple Exchange" incantation from a book of the Devil (discovered in Widow Mary's house, a woman rumored to be immortal after striking a deal with the Devil), Solomon summons the Devil and makes a deal to turn his misfortunes around. He wants "power, prosperity and legacy" and is willing to pay the price of a single soul every few years.

Entertain your brain with the coolest news from streaming to superheroes, memes to video games.

He writes the sacrifice's name on the stone wall in the secret passage beneath his house and the Devil possesses them. Sarah points out this sees the murders of even more people, as the Devil heads out on a killing spree.

To stop her from telling everyone, Solomon frames Sarah for the deaths of multiple children in the village (he'd initially tried to frame Pastor Miller). This is an easy task, when the villagers already believe Sarah's soul to be damned, after she was discovered kissing and falling in love with Hannah Miller, the pastor's daughter.

The villagers hang Sarah, but not before she promises to reveal the truth about the Goodes. "The truth shall be your curse," she tells Solomon. "I will shadow you for eternity. And everything you take and everyone you harm, you will feel the grip of my hand. I will follow you forever. I will never let you go."

This is why when Deena completes Sarah's skeleton, she sees exactly what happened in 1666. However, there's a consequence: Anyone who touches Sarah's bones becomes a target of the Shadyside Killers.

Maya Hawke's Heather falls victim to a possessed Ryan Torres.

One of the first things established in Part One: 1994 is the feud between Ohio's (fictional) rich and poor rival towns. Shadyside is known as the murder capital of the United States, while Sunnyvale is considered one of the richest and safest cities in the country. "Bad things always happen to Shadysiders," Sadie Sink's Ziggy says.

What's the connection? Why is one better than the other?

In their deal with the Devil, Sunnyvale family the Goodes trade the people of Shadyside for prosperity and wealth. Sheriff Nick Goode gives a name to the Devil, who then possesses that person and goes on a murder rampage, killing Shadysiders and feeding on their blood.

In return, Sheriff Goode gets whatever he wants. He becomes sheriff, his brother Will Goode becomes mayor and all of Sunnyvale becomes better and better, at Shadyside's expense. It carries on through generations, one Goode taking on the evil mantle.

A real Shadyside, Ohio exists, but thankfully the violent history depicted in the films is fictional (the movies are based on R.L. Stine's popular Fear Street book series after all). Several Sunnyvales exist as well, but they're scattered across the US and don't border Shadyside.

Cindy and Alice discover the wall of names.

In Part Two: 1978, Alice (Cindy's former friend) and Cindy (Ziggy's sister) find a wall carved with the names of all the Shadyside Killers underneath Sarah Fier's house. Alice realizes that anyone whose name is written into the rock becomes possessed. Nurse Lane's daughter Ruby Lane is one of the possessed and attacks Simon in 1994. This is why Nurse Lane tries to kill Tommy Slater, knowing he too will turn into a killer, after she sees his name written on the wall.

The names written on the wall include Cyrus Miller (the pastor), William "Billy" Barker, Ruby Lane (Nurse Lane's daughter), Isaac Milton and Harry Rooker (The Milkman).

Deena's little brother Josh collects newspaper clippings of the Shadyside Killers. They reveal a memorable list of slasher monikers, although the film series doesn't delve deep into the backstories. Here's what we know from the short snippets.

Ruby Lane: Nurse Lane's daughter, a 16-year-old Shadyside high schooler who murdered her boyfriend and six more with a razor in 1965. You can tell she's coming when you hear her singing You always hurt the one you love, by the Mills Brothers. Ruby's wrists are slashed -- a sign of her attempt at killing herself and (unsuccessfully) ending the curse.

Humpty Dumpty Killer: A newspaper clipping reveals that in 1935, the Humpty Dumpty Killer "strikes again." The details aren't clear, except that the killer's victims likely can't be put back together again.

Farmer of Death: A note on Josh's detective wall says "Farmer of Death -- 1890." We don't learn more than that.

Billy Barker: Aka the creepy mask-wearing child. Barker bludgeons his sleeping brother in bed with a baseball bat in 1922. According to another newspaper clipping, Barker died in unknown circumstances following the murder. Like Ruby Lane, he too probably tried to (unsuccessfully) end the curse by killing himself.

The Milkman: In the 1950s, Harry Rooker was a milkman before he became one of the Shadyside Killers. The Milkman went on a murder rampage, killing his customers -- all of them housewives -- with a switchblade.

The Grifter: In 1904, The Grifter is shown in a quick flashback to be drowning a girl in a lake. Although, a newspaper clipping indicates The Grifter's favored murder method has something to do with the alliteration: "Grifter Guts Girls."

Camp Nightwing Killer: This is Tommy Slater, whose axe-wielding origins we see in Part Two: 1978. "Group of campers, brutal massacre. There was one Shadyside survivor, C. Berman," his newspaper clipping reads.

After Sarah kills Sheriff Nick Goode by stabbing him in the eye and the Shadyside Killers disappear (along with what appears to be gruesome Devil's spawn underneath Shadyside Mall), a news reporter reveals "information continues to surface implicating Union County Sheriff Nicholas Goode, the Sunnyvale serial killer."

The reporter goes on to say that the Goode family "maintains they had no knowledge of Sheriff Goode's horrifying secret."

We then see a short scene during the end credits. Underneath the mall, behind the sheriff do not cross police tape, the charred book of the Devil is swiped by an unknown person.

This is great news for fans who want more from the Fear Street world (we don't have any news on follow-up films or TV series just yet).

As for those hands? We can only speculate who stole the book at this point, but maybe the Goode family isn't done with the Devil just yet.

‘Fear Street Part 3: 1666’ Review: Revenge Is Messy in Twisted Netflix Trilogy Bookend

IndieWire 16 July, 2021 - 02:01am

@stevebruin

To anyone who’s seen the first two installments of Netflix’s three-part horror collection, it’s almost a formality to describe the initial plot of “Fear Street: 1666.” The ending of “1978” hinted at a possible window to the truth, a chance for Deena (Kiana Madeira) to see the origins of a town’s curse through the eyes of Sarah Fier herself. Memorialized in regional lore as a witch whose wickedness cursed Shadyside to centuries of doom in the form of a spate of serial killers, Sarah is introduced here as a loving sister and daughter who’s as capable helping her brother with the livestock as she is doing good works for her fellow residents of Union, including potential husband Solomon Goode.

Her heart truly belongs, though, to the pastor’s daughter, despite obvious reasons why they can never be together. If parts of this start to feel familiar, it’s helped along by the fact that the cast of “1666” are all “reprising” their roles from the previous two chapters. Sarah’s brother (Benjamin Flores Jr.) has the same face as the boy firing up proto-AIM and surviving a supermarket axe attack. A jaunt through the town square reveals Fred Hechinger, Sadie Sink, and Emily Rudd — previous denizens of Shadyside summer camps and high schools — as those playing the folks who live nearby. After playing Sheriff Nick Goode in “1994,” Ashley Zukerman pulls double duty here as the similarly-named Solomon. And that fateful profession of feelings that kickstarts the rest of “1666” is brought to life by Madeira and Olivia Scott Welch, the two actresses who did the same in “1994.”

Where the first two “Fear Street” chapters deftly drew on their spiritual cinematic ancestors, “1666” feels less stylistically distinct. Rather than lean into any colonial aesthetics, this movie feels too beholden to connect to parts of these stories coming ten generations later. There’s a jarring pace to some of the early character introductions that feels downright frenetic for the 17th century. True, one of the overarching ideas in “Fear Street” is that certain cultural fearmongering — be it in the form of homophobia, class division, or moral panic — are as etched into American life as the names on the stone near the pentagram beneath the Camp Nightwing outhouse. But those connections feel flattened here, with a modernized energy that robs “1666” of most of the real horror that could be mined from the realities of the time period.

There are still some nods to other stories of allegorical witch hunts (it would be more surprising if there wasn’t an “I saw [insert character here] with the Devil!” formulation of some kind) and tales of colonial settlements gone wrong (a new rule of thumb for anyone in a story set before the invention of electricity: do not get attached to any animals). But maybe the most baffling choice of “1666” is to have its ensemble try to adopt a collective mishmash of Northern European accents. (Each cast member’s relative comfort with this creative choice largely correlates with how effective their performances have been in the two films prior.) What starts out as an experiment in the vein of an “American Horror Story”-style anthology occasionally veers slightly toward “The Gang Cracks the Liberty Bell” territory.

As the director of all three of these “Fear Street” films, Janiak’s greatest strengths arrive when there’s dread to be built. As the village of Union starts to literally and metaphorically spoil, each tiny escalation of the townspeople’s fervor helps lock “Fear Street” into what it does best. (Again, it’s not just the humans that start to behave erratically.) If fate is the great bow tying all three of these films together, it only makes sense that some of the most vivid terrors are presented matter-of-fact. As is the “Fear Street” way, once a single, heretofore-carefree member of the community begins to mete out some grisly, arbitrary violence, it sets off an even bigger chain reaction.

Fear Street Part 3: 1666

To use another momentum-heavy metaphor, by the halfway mark of “1666,” this series is already a giant boulder hurtling toward the showdown it’s been teasing over its previous 5 hours. This installment gives you plenty of help in putting the final pieces in place, and credit it for not dragging out the series’ last big reveal any longer than it does. There’s already a pretty good summation of the Sarah Fier story by the end of “1978.” It’s only when things start to veer from that understanding that “1666” functions as a standalone piece.

Characters throughout “Fear Street” have been doing plenty of on-screen dot-connecting, but “1666” has some particularly pointed asides. Many are designed to fill in any gaps for those who may have missed the outlined rules of demon possession, sacrificial offerings, and corpse reanimation laid out over the first two films. A story with rival factions named Sunnyvale and Shadyside was never going to be a bastion of subtlety, but even by those standards, one late-film statement involving a character’s last name is painfully on-the-nose (and even more egregious when written out in giant letters on the side of a wall).

Despite some of the counterproductive choices in “1666,” the way that “Fear Street” chooses to wrap up this mini-saga is a jolt of inspiration at the finish. The series’ climactic battle is a reversal of sorts of a memorable stretch from a notable genre film released in (when else?) 1978. The foregrounding of one particular character (making good on a promise first introduced in “1994”) gives the last stretch a much-needed influx of energy and humor as all of these disparate bloody threads get braided together. And for those missing the alt-radio greatest hits jams of the first “Fear Street” film, this ending finds a way to incorporate a few more of those for good measure.

It’s all cloaked with a certain air of inevitability. In many ways, that’s the “Fear Street” ethos, that the events set in motion are controlled by forces both more and less mysterious than anyone in this town realizes. The location, the players, and the weapons within this series final reckoning all play out as if prophesied. That’s true all the way up through this last film’s mid-credits scene, which raises the same cheeky-but-eerie question: All of this has happened before, so who’s to say it won’t happen again?

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film, Reviews and tagged Fear Street Part 3: 1666, Leigh Janiak, Netflix, Reviews

Interviews with leading film and TV creators about their process and craft.

Fear Street Part 3: 1666 Review - Netflix’s Horror Trilogy Ends On A High Note

Screen Rant 16 July, 2021 - 02:01am

Fear Street Part 3: 1666 picks up immediately after the events of 1978, with Deena (Kiana Madeira) having reunited Sarah Fier's hand with the rest of her body. In doing so, Deena learns what really happened to Sarah Fier, and how she came to be thought of as the witch that cursed Shadyside. Deena learns about how the original settlement of Union was ravaged by blight, and the townsfolk became focused on blaming it on Sarah, accusing her of making a deal with the devil. However, the truth is far from the story Deena has heard growing up and she learns the real source of the evil that plagues Shadyside. Armed with her newfound knowledge, Deena sets out to save her girlfriend Sam (Olivia Scott Welch) with the help of her brother Josh (Benjamin Flores Jr.) and Christine Berman (Gillian Jacobs).

Part 1: 1994 and Part 2: 1978 were shallow recreations of horror films of their eras, pulling music and conventions from slashers from the 70s and 90s. These were then combined with a modern sensibility that didn't quite work, largely because the villain was a mysterious witch with stock character boogeymen for her henchmen. It's not until Fear Street Part 3: 1666 that the trilogy's true themes lock into place - that being the way men have persecuted women, and the rich have stepped on the poor to keep on getting richer - which give the third film a stronger throughline. Those themes, in tandem with music from the 90s (when the story returns to that era) and some fun creepiness in both time periods, make Fear Street Part 3: 1666 an entertaining watch.

Overall, Fear Street Part 3: 1666 may be the strongest and most freshly original of the trilogy, but it's still reliant entirely on everything that was built up by the previous two films. As such, it wouldn't be recommended to watch any of the movies on their own, but together as one single series. For its part, 1666 offers a satisfying conclusion to the story of Shadyside and Sarah Fier's curse, even if it still feels as though the trilogy never quite lived up to its potential. It perhaps could've benefited from less homages and more genuine scares, but the trilogy as a whole makes for a fun enough horror experience. So those who watched the first two installments will certainly want to check out the final chapter, while those who haven't been intrigued by the series' premise can skip it. Fear Street Part 3: 1666, and the Fear Street trilogy overall, is fine and fun enough horror entertainment, while not being necessarily extraordinary or memorable.

Fear Street Part 3: 1666 is now streaming on Netflix. It is 112 minutes long and rated R for strong violence and gore, language, some sexuality and brief drug use.

Let us know what you thought of the film in the comments section!

1666 isn’t a great movie, but it is a satisfying conclusion to Fear Street

The A.V. Club 16 July, 2021 - 02:00am

Kiana Madeira, Olivia Scott Welch, Benjamin Flores Jr., Ashley Zukerman, Gillian Jacobs, Darrell Britt-Gibson

10 Behind-The-Scenes "Fear Street" Facts We Learned From Kiana Madeira, And 17 Facts We Learned About Her

BuzzFeed 15 July, 2021 - 03:34pm

So many things! I was initially attracted to the role of Deena because when I read her on script, I could see how passionate, driven, and determined she was. She's just a true hero. Deena goes through so much over the course of the three films — it's just so rare! Being a woman is one thing, but being a woman of color in a horror film playing a queer character is another thing — there are just so many things about this project as a whole that are so groundbreaking! So, I was attracted to Fear Street for all of those reasons, but mostly because I related to Deena in the sense that she is willing to do anything and everything to protect the people that she loves.

I definitely relate to Deena in the way that she cares very, very deeply about the people in her life. She's willing to sacrifice her safety in herself. I'm the middle child in my family and I sometimes feel like a mother hen. I just always want to make sure everyone's good. I look out for my younger sister, my older brother, my mom, and my dad — I feel like I'm really hands-on when it comes to taking care of them, and making sure that they're good.

I was most proud of a scene in the third movie, Fear Street: 1666. I play a different character in 1666. Everything that that character goes through, I was really proud to tell that story. At the end of 1666, there was a scene that I just felt proud to show because it's heartbreaking, truthful, and really reflects the world that we live in. I was also really proud of the physicality and emotions that were required to do that scene.

I feel like the scripts were so wonderfully written in the sense that my character in 1666 and my character in 1994 mirrored each other in a really nice way. They're both so strong, empowered, determined, and passionate. That helped me a lot in terms of performance.

I would say the challenging part in the beginning was definitely the dialects that I had to learn, because the character I play in 1666 speaks differently than Deena. For 1666, we worked with our dialect coach named Charlotte Fleck in the very beginning of filming the first movie, so that when it came time to filming the third, it felt more natural. And then I would say finding those subtleties that make them different. Although they're both strong, my character in 1666 is a little more more vulnerable, in the sense that everything was happening to her for the first time, whereas Deena expected things to happen to her.

I just finished Behind Her Eyes on Netflix. I didn't know where it was going [laughs]. I liked that it was only six or seven episodes. I don't do well with shows with like six seasons. But the twist at the end was great! I didn't expect it at all.

I definitely do curse [laughs], probably "Fuck."

This is gonna sound funny, but I just made a TikTok with my sister and it hit a million views. I've never had a million anything [laughs], so I was like, "Oh, I made it!" That was like two days ago.

I'm @kianamadeira on TikTok. My sister and I did that new In the Heights challenge, where they sing, "Vanessa!"

It’s the falling and still staying in character for me 😭😂 @mclovinsfavoritewife #intheheights

Fear Street Part 3

Entertainment Stories

Top Stores