Start times for final time trial at 2021 Tour de France: Tadej Pogačar facing very different final TT


VeloNews 16 July, 2021 - 12:07pm 12 views

Who won stage 17?

Tadej Pogacar wins stage 17! Tadej Pogacar tugs on the yellow jersey as he crosses the line first! Jonas Vingegaard comes through to finish in second place, with Carapaz third! The GuardianTour de France 2021: Pogacar wins stage 17 atop the Col du Portet – as it happened

Who won stage 18?

Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) won stage 18, final mountain stage of the race at the Tour de France, on the summit of Luz Ardiden. The overall race leader attacked a small and select group of GC contenders to take the win ahead of Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) and Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers). Cyclingnews.comTour de France 2021: Stage 18 highlights - Video

Did Cavendish make the time cut?

Cavendish survives another time cut Mark Cavendish made it comfortably inside the time cut for stage 17 on the top of the Col du Portet, as he stays in the race and continues to look good at having a shot at breaking the stage winners record when the roads flatten again. Cycling WeeklyFive talking points from stage 17 of the Tour de France 2021

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

About a year ago, everyone thought Primož Roglič had the 2020 Tour de France in the bag. Very few outside the UAE-Team Emirates team bus believed the miracle that was about to unfold.

Flash forward 10 months or so, and Tadej Pogačar faces a very different time trial to last year.

“I will have no stress, no pressure,” Pogačar said. “I will always try to do my best in any time trial, but I will not have any stress about my time trial tomorrow.”

The Slovenian coasted through Friday’s final transition stage to carry an insurmountable lead into Saturday’s time trial.

The looping course around the Bordeaux wine country should be little more than a coronation for the UAE-Team Emirates captain, who holds a 5:45 lead to Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma).

Pogačar won’t take any chances during the rolling course, where the likes of Swiss specialists Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) and Stefan Bissegger (EF Education-Nippo) will be battling for the win.

Here is the start list for 30.8km 20th stage from Libourne to Saint-Émilion:

Get the latest race news, results, commentary, and tech, delivered to your inbox.

Read full article at VeloNews

Sports Stories

Top Stores