Watch Live: SpaceX Launch of Astronauts for NASA

Science

The New York Times 23 April, 2021 - 04:14am 36 views

When is the launch?

Rocket Launch: April 23, 2021 5:49 AM ET | SpaceX Falcon 9 Crew-2. In the second crew launch, four astronauts will launch aboard a Crew Dragon spacecraft on a Falcon 9 rocket to the International Space Station from Kennedy Space Center. kennedyspacecenter.comRocket Launch Schedule

Liftoff is set for 5:49AM ET on Friday

The mission, dubbed Crew-2, marks the second operational mission under the Commercial Crew Program, NASA’s public-private initiative to revive its human spaceflight capabilities after a 10-year dependence on Russian rockets. It will mark the first time NASA astronauts fly a reused crew capsule — Crew-2’s ride first flew in May 2020 as SpaceX’s first astronaut mission, carrying Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley.

The crew includes NASA astronauts Shane Kimbrough, the mission’s spacecraft commander, and Megan McArthur, serving as the pilot. JAXA astronaut Akihiko Hoshide and ESA astronaut Thomas Pesquet, a French aerospace engineer, will serve as mission specialists. All the astronauts are in Florida ahead of the launch, and they’ll wake up at 11:09PM ET Thursday to prepare for flight.

NASA’s live coverage of the mission will begin hours before liftoff, at 1:30AM ET Friday. Liftoff is at 5:49AM ET. The trek to the International Space Station will take a little less than a day — the crew is scheduled to dock with the space station at around 5:10AM ET Saturday, April 24th. They’ll spend six months on the station.

SpaceX’s Falcon 9 rocket will take off on Friday, April 23rd, from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Florida.

Scheduled launch time: New York: 5:49AM / San Francisco: 2:49AM / London: 10:49AM / Berlin: 11:49AM / Moscow: 12:49PM / New Delhi: 3:19 PM / Beijing: 5:49PM / Tokyo: 6:49PM / Melbourne: 7:49PM

Live stream: NASA’s live stream coverage can be found on YouTube and on the agency’s website.

Subscribe to get the best Verge-approved tech deals of the week.

Read full article at The New York Times

SpaceX launch

Science Stories