Google ed29,"Safe Folder," an option to encrypt content

Technologies

By CAPosts 07 August, 2020 - 01:02pm 85 views

Secure folder in Files

Google launched Secure Folder, a new feature in Files, a Google app that helps free up space, manage content and share files and can be downloaded at no cost from the Google Play store.

Secure Folder is a 4-digit PIN-encrypted folder that protects important documents, images, videos, and audio files so others can't open or access them. The folder locks securely when you exit the Files app, so you can't access any of its contents when the app is in the background. To re-access the content stored there, Secure Folder will re-request the PIN.

The Safe Folder feature will start rolling out in Google Files beta (available in the Play Store, Android only) starting in August and will be gradually expanding its availability to more people in the coming weeks.

Files is

Google Files is a file management tool.

It's an app that Google launched in 2017 and used by more than 150 million people worldwide every month. Files is a file management tool that allows you to do the following:

1) Free up space: optimizes smartphone performance, removes unwanted and cache files to free up memory space and improve performance.

2) Find files quickly: search the storage and find what you're looking for without needing to be an expert in file management.

3) Share files: send images, share videos, transfer large files or APK apps with a speed of up to 480 Mbps on a direct and encrypted Wi-Fi network.

Some facts about Files that Google shared on its blog:

From its launch, the app has:

1. Deleted more than 1 billion digital clutter files, which would take more than 30,000 years if you had to clean a duplicate file, an old meme or a junk file manually every second.

2. Saved over 400 petabytes of space on people's phones, about 1,400 years of uninterrupted HD videos, to make room for important moments.

3. Released about 12GB of space per second, which equates to 5,000 photos per second, allowing you to save more photos that mean a lot to you when you need it.

As part of the announcement of the new security tool for Files, from the company they shared other security measures that the user can take into account to protect their information. Information can be managed from My Account in the Settings menu of your Google account.

There, users can review what types of data are enabled, how Google uses them, and adjust settings according to the interest and needs of each. These are the main configurations to review:

1) Web and app activity: if this setting is turned on, Google saves user activity on websites and apps, including searches and related information, such as location. It also offers the option to save the apps that the user uses, Chrome history, and the websites they visit.

With this setting, Google delivers results faster by auto-complete searches, as well as personalized experiences on Maps, Assistant, and other Google services.

How to turn it on or off? The Privacy Review offers the option to turn it on or off completely, or some particular features.

In addition, the user can delete their already collected data manually, choose an automatic deletion option or stop saving data.

2) Location History: this functionality is used in Finder, Maps, and other services. By enabling this setting, Google creates a private map (only available to the user) of the sites that were visited with the devices where you sign in. This includes the duration, frequency of visits, way of moving from one site to another:

Having this setting active allows you to offer custom maps with better route searches for daily scrolling, recommendations based on visited sites, help finding your phone, real-time notifications, and other useful ads.

Location history is turned off by default and will only be enabled if enabled.

The user can pause location history at any time from the Controles section of your Google Account activity. In addition, you can limit which devices provide data:whether all devices do or only a few.

To view visited sites, you can access the Google Maps timeline, as well as edit or delete information from this section.

3) Tube History: when enabled, save videos viewed and searches performed on YouTube to My Account. If desired, there are options for automatic deletion: automatically delete activity that is more than 3 months old, automatically delete activity that is more than 18 months old, or not automatically delete.

4) Manage Google Photos settings: Users can choose whether to remove geographic information from their photos when they share them via a link.

5) Control what other people may see: the user can review publicly available personal information and make modifications.

6) Make ads more relevant: users can change the types of ads they're displayed and adjust their interests, age, gender. They can also disable interest-based ads. In this case, users will continue to receive ads but will be less relevant.

MORE ON THIS THEME:

Google introduced the Pixel 4a, its new inexpensive cell phone

Why does CFK sue Google?

Christina Kirchner reported Google because she was "the thief of the Argentine Nation"

Related News

B google b Google Secure folder Encryption